Note: This feature is only available with a license of Qwickly Attendance Pro.
Qwickly Attendance lets Admins permanently delete user data from the Qwickly Attendance system. When you do this, it erases all attendance and user information that Qwickly Attendance might have for those users in the system. Please keep in mind that removing user data doesn't delete the actual user.
Admins can upload a .csv or .txt file and run a delete user action that can delete up to 200 users at a time.
How to Use the Delete User Data Feature
Admins can go to the Qwickly Dashboard > Manage Attendance > Tools > Delete User Data
Qwickly Attendance will first prompt the Admin for a file upload of the list of users who they want to be removed from the system. Next, Qwickly Attendance will display a confirmation screen showing the list of students matched from the file upload, and the Admin will be able to mark the students whom they want to be deleted from the system.
Once confirmed, Qwickly Attendance will begin the user data deletion process in the background. Admins will receive a confirmation email once the process has started and been completed. All actions are also logged in the Qwickly Attendance Instance Logs.
Each step of the Delete User Data Process is described in more detail below:
Step 1: File Upload
To get started, the Admin should create a file containing the user data of the students they want to remove from the system.
- This file should be in either .csv or .txt format and must use UTF-8 encoding.
- Each line in the file should contain a single value, which corresponds to the selected student key.
- The file upload may have up to 200 students.
In this example, I have selected the student key to be "Username". The file I've prepared includes one student username per line. Below is an example screenshot of a file upload:
Once the desired file has been selected, the Admin can press upload and move to the next step.
Step 2: Confirm User Data Deletion
In Step 2, the Admin will display two potential lists.
In the first list, the Admin is shown a list of users that Qwickly Attendance was able to match to existing data from the file upload. In the screenshot above, we've used the file upload from the previous step and matched it to two existing users. Both users will be initially auto-selected for deletion. However, the Admin may decide to unselect any users before proceeding to final deletion.
When ready for the final deletion, the Admin can click on the blue "Delete" button. This will bring up a final confirmation pop-up that will ask the Admin if they want to permanently delete the selected users' data. This confirmation prompt also allows the Admin to CC an additional email to receive the deletion confirmation.
When ready, the admin can press "Confirm Deletion".
In addition to this, Qwickly Attendance may also display a list of users from the initial file upload for whom we were unable to find matching students. Admins can download this user list separately by clicking on the white "Download User List as csv" button.
Delete User Data Process Notifications
After the user data deletion has been confirmed, the Admin will be presented with a final confirmation alert.
The deletion process will begin running in the background, so the Admin can navigate away from the window at this moment.
Once the deletion process has been completed, the Admin (and any potential CC emails) will receive an email confirming the deletion of data. Example screenshot below:
Furthermore, Qwickly Attendance will also log the actions in your Instance logs. Example screenshot below:
Further Implications of Delete User Data Process
With user data deletion, Admins may want to consider some implications on the reporting side.
When user data is deleted, it permanently removes all attendance data for any deleted user. This means that if reports are run for courses where these users may have previously appeared, they will no longer appear in these reports after the deletion.
Before data deletion, this is what a report would look like for a course where both these users are enrolled:
After Data Deletion, this is what the same report would look like for this course:
To ensure that data is saved for future reference, Admins may consider downloading and saving these users' data. Qwickly Attendance offers a lot of reports for Admins to be able to save this data. In particular, the following ways could be applicable here:
- Saving each course's data through a course data export (done through the Qwickly Attendance tool on a course-by-course basis)
- Running a student data download for each particular student (done through Qwickly Attendance Pro > Student Reporting > Student Search)